Earlier, we published a tutorial on how to track a lost Android phone using the Android device manager. You can also use the same tool to erase or wipe the data on your Android device. if you’ve lost your device, you can use the tool to force a factory reset to protect your personal data.
For you to be able to erase the data on your Android if stolen, you must have activated the Android Device Manager feature on your phone before you lose your phone (or before it gets stolen). To activate it, if your device is running Android 4.2.2, Go to Settings > Security > Device Administrators. Tick the checkbox and click “Activate”.
Whenever you want to erase the data on your Android, go to https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager and log in with the Google account associated with your Android device. Accept the terms and enable Lock & Erase feature if prompted. Click the Erase button to send the wipe command to the device. This will erase all your apps, photos, music, and settings from your device.
If your device is offline when you send the “Erase Device” command, it will perform the reset the next time it comes online. Once your device has been wiped, you will no longer be able to access it from Android Device Manager. Also keep in mind that a remote factory reset may not wipe external SD memory cards.
NB: You can also install Android Device Manager to any other Android phone, log in as a guest and wipe off the data on your lost Android.